Another recipe that came up vis a vis Veteran’s Day

We need to remember. I should have posted this Monday

We need to remember. I should have posted this Monday

During WWI and WWII meat was scarce. A lot of Old Country recipes made their way into the meal rotation. With Advent coming up and more people leaning toward vegetarian diets I thought that it was time to dust off this chestnut from my grandmother’s and mother’s book, potato pancakes. We’re going for two different types. One tat’s good for using leftover mashed and making them from  potatoes. The first one uses leftover mashed and I semi-borrowed from Sandra Lee’s Semi-Homemade. Okay let’s go.

You’re going to need:

2 C mashed potatoes

I/4 C shredded cheese (mozzarella, cheddar)

1/2 C bread crumbs

salt

pepper

vegetable oil

Combine the potatoes and cheese. Season  bread crumbs with salt and pepper. Make 1/4 C portions of potato mixture.  Roll into balls, place in bread crumbs. Roll the balls in bread crumbs. When covered flatten to 1/2 inch thick  and lightly brown in oil.

The Old Fashioned Way

You’re going to need either a food processor with a shredder blade or a box grater.

A  large bowl

3 lbs. potatoes

1 extra large egg

1/2 C bread crumbs

2 or 3 T flour

vegetable oil

Food Processor

Put in the shredding blade and run the potatoes through. Take 3/4 out and add to large bowl. Put in mixing slashing blade. Add egg, bread crumbs. Pulse until thoroughly reduced. Add to shredded potatoes. If the mixture is too soupy add flour to tighten it up. Let it sit for five, ten minutes. If t needs more flour add it. Heat about a 1/2 inch oil in a heavy skillet. Drop in large spoonful’s. When the edges get crisp turn over.

Box Grater

Shred 2 lbs. on the coarse side of the grater. The rest on the fine side. Combine. Add egg, bread crumbs. Combine. Let sit.  If it begins to look too loose add flour in increments. Heat oil in heavy skillet. Fry in large spoonfuls until crispy on the edges turn.

I’ve added grated parm to the mix but mom a and gramma wouldn’t.

 

A red rose on Veteran's Day still hanging in.

A red rose on Veteran’s Day still hanging in.

About tomwisk

Would you trust this man with your mind? Give it a shot. I'm working my way to being a good human being. Also, I take a lousy picture. I did mine myself, it shows. This blog is changing. So am I. Join me for the trip. It might not be pleasant at times but I've got to do it. It will explain most things. Those it doesn't I don't know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

